I will start by apologizing, I need to take a night away from the game before I wrote this. So I did not write anything I would regret, if you want my raw uncensored feeling about the damn and all the reaction to every play, twitter is were to be.
OK, so the game started out like it was going to be one of those games, not only in innings but in every sense of the meaning. It was a long well thought out fight between both pitchers, Burnett for the Yankees and Blackburn for the Twins. AJ went 6 innings and had 6 strike outs and Nick went only 5.2 innings and had only a merger 3 strike outs. Those merger numbers shown by both pitchers don't mean shit because the Twins were the team to draw first blood, but not till the sixth, and only gave up a score each. After both teams scored both starting pitchers seemed to be pulled.
I am going to credit were it is due, because the Twins seemed to due a better job with our batters, yes the Yankees do what they do best by making the pitchers work but not every player had a hit in this game, like game one. So I give them the credit that most Yankees fans wont.
Back to the game, the crowd went absolutely crazy when Jorge Posada was announced. Now if you have been living under a rock, then you wouldn't know of the drama about Jorgie not starting the game, instead AJ wanted Molina to catch him. So Jorge steeps into the batters circle and the crowd let him know that he was still very much loved the Yankees fans. Even though he did not get a hit at his first at bat. Jeter does what the captain does best, he hit a double. After he reached base that was it the Yankees fans were back to stay and stopped the noise. Twins walked Damon with A-Rod in the on deck circle, now I wanna know their thinking behind that. Alex Rodriguez hit a single RBI, to bring Jeter in, tying the score at one.
Here is my issue with my Alex, I guess its not really with Alex himself but with his haters. Not everything that man does has to do with Kate, he is a big and a great baseball player. Yes I realize what I said yesterday during the game, I was in the moment. I have been a fan of his back when he was with the Rangers. Kate, has nothing to do with what he does when he is on the field, get off his nuts, please.
The eighth inning came and the Twins scored two Yankees didn't answer back. Bottom of the ninth Tex is on, Rodriguez comes up and hits a homer to tie the game. Yankee stadium was rocking and continued to rock as Alex came out of the dug out for a curtain call. Jorgie boy hit a single, Joe pulled Jorge and put the jet out there to run for him. The crowd booed every time the Twins threw back to first, they knew he was going to steal so did everyone else. Jeters at bat, Brett goes for it, running towards second when the Twins throw it away, missing second and the ball goes into CF, Brett gets up and goes to third. Jeters face was priceless, he thought that throw to second was going to tag Brett out.
This is where the game gets ugly for both teams, a blown call in favor of the Yankees by the umpire. When Melky met the wall in left field, I am sure you all have seen the video, so no need to go into detail about it. Bases loaded, yes bases loaded for the Twins two out, Gardner makes in my mind the save of the game, to get the Yankees out of the inning.
Mark Teixiera, is at bat, everyone is on their feet, mind you we are in the 11th inning. In New York it was a ungodly hour. Tex steps to the plate and hits a walk off HOMER, to end the game Yankees Win, the Yankees Win, and in true walk off fashion, he just beats to death by his team mates at home plate, and during his interview gets PIED....

No comments:
Post a Comment