So earlier in the day the NHL suspended Brad Staubitz for excessive physical contact in the game with the Kings, he was suspended without pay. So with Staubitz out, the Sharks called up Jamie McGinn, to fill the hole in the line up. Pavelski, is still out with a lower body injury.
How to start this one, this game had everything, it was like a daytime drama. So it was the Sharks home opener, and boy was it not exciting. If you have ever been to the Tank, you know what the crowd can do to visiting team. The fans get so into the game and get so loud down on the ice you can get disorientated; yes even the best players. One thing I am tried of hearing is that how long the season is, so they don't want to worry about that now. Guess what they season may be long according to you, but if things don't get work out now the season will be even longer. One more thing before I get to the game; Great scoring chances are just that CHANCES they are not, I repeat are not Goals, their is a difference.
OK, now to the game oh Lord the first period, the Sharks were disorganized in their own zone, even with Heatley drawing the first penalty in the first 36 seconds of the game. The one thing I have noticed in all the games although I haven't mention it; the referee's calling to many men on the ice, I just hope they keep up those kinds of calls through the rest of the season. Back to the game; Clowe had a great first period his puck play was top notch. Benn Ferriero, doesn't remember that he is a rookie and isn't suppose to be playing like he is, he an amazing steal also in the first. The play in their own zone was horrible, they seemed not to be able to get it out. Any good hockey fan knows how important the first goal of the game is, well the Sharks gave up the first one. Highlight for me was Scott Nichol gave a clean hit to a Blue Jackets member, well they didn't like that and came back after him seconds later taking a penalty, Nichol is a huge gain for the Sharks. There was still a lack of communication with the Sharks in the first, what can I say its a long season.
The second period, boy did they come alive or what after that goal by Boyle. They had better puck handling by the team and they were quicker. This the one penalty I HATE, boarding not only is it dangerous but it is not necessary by anyone, even my own team. Clowe hit the numbers and took the penalty and he is lucky that the Blue Jackets didn't try to get back at him. You see the numbers you stop that hockey 101. Now that I got that out of my system, their were two great fights in the period; Clowe and the rookie McLaren. Clowe made his guy bleed which is always a plus in my book and McLaren he can fight throwing rights like he was a amateur boxer. J.R is missed he appeared on the broadcast with Randy and Drew and he is loving retirement. Goals from Boyle, Heatley and Pickle (Vlasic in case you didn't know who that was)
Finally the third and final period after another goal by Heatley the Blue Jackets pulled their goalie. Our captain Rob Blake takes a penalty and as soon as he sat his happy down the Jackets scored. Which doesn't make me happy he is the damn captain and he should not be taking those kind of penalties for any reason. the Sharks had a break away Thornton feed Heatley into the Blue Jackets blue zone. Heatley was tripped and given a penalty shot completing his hat trick, the fourth of his career the first as a Shark. Doing so he set a record for the Sharks being the first Shark to complete a hat trick in their debut. Setoguchi had some nifty skating and great puck handling near the 12 minute mark, but was denied a goal.
At the end of the game, and a first for the Sharks the team gathered at center ice and raised their sticks to salute their fans who have supported them for 17 years. I realize they are not the first to do this but it meant a lot to me, to know that they understand, we as fans are behind them 100% no matter what happens
Stars of the Game
1. Dany Heatley hat trick
2. Joe Thornton five assist and one unofficial assist
3. Ryan Clowe fight, and overall great presence on the ice
*McLaren star worthy maybe not but he deserves praise for his fight
No comments:
Post a Comment