The bad news started right off the bat; Joe Pavelski was going to be out for at the least a few weeks with a lower body injury, due to his blocked shot against the Ducks. Because of his injury Marleau moves back over to the center, where he feels most comfortable.
Enough with the bad news. To bad I have more bad news, the Sharks go down rather quickly to a four goal deficit. Then Nabby gets pulled and they put in the rookie Gresis. The Sharks come back and score three goals within five minutes, mind you they are all power play goals. They go unanswered till Heatley scores his first as a Shark then right off the very next face the Kings score. It was the ugliest goal so far this season, I know that's not saying much being that this is the third game of the year, but never the less it was ugly. With a little more then two minutes to play the Kings score again. That's it folks the game was over, they fought all they way back and scored four only to have the rug ripped out from under them in the last minutes.
OK so what was up with the flashing ads on the boards near the blue lines, within the first five minutes in the game they were bugging me. I don't get it, I guess I realize that you need to give your advertisers the ample spot and time on TV but come on. Once the game started the Sharks were spending way to much time in their zone, plus their Defense was breaking down badly in front of the net through most of the first period. That is why the Kings scored when and where they did, but once they got their feet under them they were off. In the Kings zone they pounded on them, by the time the period ended, they were down by a goal but out shooting them 14 to 10. Then pushing and shoving after the period put Ryan Clowe in the box for roughing, now in my mind he didn't deserve a penalty. Just before the end of the period a player from the Kings, tripped him with his knee, Clowe was upset because the ref's didn't call the penalty.
Just bad defense through the whole game. All the Sharks goals were scored on the power play, which shows a great special teams, but they need to step it up during the regular play. Now I am not going to put all the blame on the D, because Nabby wasn't in the game tonight it seemed he was letting easy goals go in. When they pulled him in the second, the team seemed to find their feet. Therefor they started to score a goal is a goal no matter full strength or power play even short handed.
Only a few minor fights, if you can call them that, broke out; but the referee's jumped in quicker the normal so no hay makers could be thrown, that was disappointing. Although their was a nasty injury to the Kings in the third #7 Scuderi received a puck to the face from Setoguchi trying to clear the zone.
Stars of the Game:(even though they didn't win)
1. Devon Setoguchi with two goals
2. Joe Thornton with three assists
3. Dany Heatley with one goal and two assists
If I find anything to bitch about I will add later
No comments:
Post a Comment