Wednesday, October 7, 2009

The Greatest Team of all time verse the Twins

I realize that I am super biased, about the Yankees but I don't care.
Was it me but what was wrong with the TBS announcers, I know not everyone is going to be a Yankees fan, and that is fine with me. The way they went on and on about Orlando Cabrera, I was saying OK now get off his nuts, really. Oh then them messing up on Alex Rodriguez's stats, was not just getting on my nerves, but the feeling was mutual on twitter. Then the consent showing of his "girlfriend" was getting annoying, along with the consent mentioning on the "New Yankees Stadium." Alright that's enough bitching about the announcers, on to the game.
Now let talking about the pitching... CC Sabathia started the game strong like everyone knew he would. In 6 and 2/3 innings he had eight strike outs, in a 113 pitches and two runs. The big man was a terror to those Twins batters, in the later innings he did start to slow down a lot. Taking a long time between pitches but still manage to get the job done. Plus only two runs, I couldn't of been happier, yes he pitched himself into trouble, but damn it did he pitch himself right out of it too. So relieving CC was Phil Hughes not Phillip Hughes like the announcers continued to refer to him as, but anyways. They brought him in he did what he had to do got his two strike outs and his night was done. Relieving Hughes was Phillip Coke, see there's the Phillip, he came in for one batter and one batter only, he struck him out and his not as over. Then Girardi brought in the one and only Joba Chamberlain dirty hat and all. With Joba at the mound I held my breathe waiting for him to screw up everything that the Yankees to that point. To my surprise he didn't, I repeat he didn't mess everything up and in three yes three pitches he took out two batters and they were out of thee inning. Then the magic man took to the helm, Mariano Rivera. Usually when he pitches its 1-2-3 and the game is over, but not this time, his pitch count was nearly at thirty when the game ended, plus he walked a batter, which is just odd to see.
Offense and Defense; Everyone except Cano had some sort of hit in the Game. So the break down Jeter singled, walked twice, and had a 2 run homer, that's why he is the captain. Damon singled twice, we need more but its a start. Tex, as he is commonly refereed to as, had only a single. Rodriguez, to almost every one's surprise he hit two RBI singes. Godzilla aka Matsui had a two run homer and was walked. Jorge had a measly single, he needs to step it up, let me get through the line up and I'll jumped on him in a second. Cano was an oh no tonight not even a meager single from him in the game. The Swishster, had a double RBI, not bad for the clown of the team according to the name sayer's. Then their is the Melk man, Melky he had a single then their was a wild pitch and he went to second.
Now Jorge, oh Jorgie boy what has happened to you. Pitches were getting away from him part of the night. I am fan of ole Jorgie but damn really, this the post season not regular. You gotta be able to make those throws to second and not those balls get past you. I don't want to see you benched but you gotta show us something that is post season worthy because heaven forbid we have to put Molina in.
Over all the play wasnt bad but it wasnt great please step it up, we like being in the post season.

No comments:

Post a Comment